KEA is organizing its eighteenth international conference. This year, the conference will be co-organized with Asia-Pacific Economic Association and hosted by Korea University. All economists who would like to present a paper in all fields of economics are encouraged to submit their works. It is also possible to participate by organizing a session.

General Theme

"The Rise of Economic Nationalism in a New Era
of Globalization"

Minor Theme

"Global Partnership for Sustainable Development"

Executive Committee

Chung Mo Koo, Kangwon National University (co-chair)
Kar-yiu Wong, University of Washington, USA (co-chair)
Joshua Aizenman, University of Southern California, USA
Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan
Junsoo Lee, University of Alabama, USA

Organizing Unit

Korean Economic Association
Asia-Pacific Economic Association


Korean Economic Association


Korea University
Korea Development Institute
Korea Institute of Public Finance
Korea-America Economic Association

Paper Submission

All economists who would like to present a paper in all fields of economics are encouraged to submit their works. In particular, we would like to invite experts in the field of globalisation as well as development economics -this year's general and minor conference themes.
The deadline for submitting an application is April 28, 2017. Please send your application form by e-mail to <>.
Please use the application form which includes the following information of you and all co-authors (if any): name, affiliation, academic rank, and e-mail address. In the application form, please also include a research field of the paper and an abstract (300 words or above).

Application form

Organizing a Session

The deadline for proposing one or more sessions is April 28, 2017. Please submit your proposal by e-mail to <>.
Each session will last for 2 hours, consisting of four papers (three or five papers are possible), to be presented by different authors, one chair (not necessarily the session organizer but preferably not one of the presenters or discussants), and the corresponding discussants.
The proposal should provide an explanation of the theme and all papers to be presented (a draft of an extended abstract), including the e-mail and mailing addresses, affiliations, academic ranks, and phone and fax numbers of the organizer, session chair, presenters, and discussants.


All participants have to register.
There is no registration fee for the members of Korean Economic Association (KEA). All others have to pay the registration fee of US$320. Graduate students, with proof of their student status, will pay a registration fee of US$160. Participants from least developed countries will also receive a 50% discount of the registration fee.
Your registration fee will be considered as the life-time membership of KEA, and you will no longer be required to pay the registration fee for the future conferences organized by KEA.

Important Dates

  • April 28, 2017 : Submission due
  • May 12, 2017 : Notification of acceptance
  • June 16, 2017 : Full paper submission
  • July 13, 2017 : Welcome reception
  • July 14-15 : Conferences


Please complete and send this hotel registration form to Hotel Koreana
by fax (+82-2-730-9025) or email ( no later than June 20, 2017.

Registration form

The Korean Economic Association (KEA)

The KEA is the representative economic association in Korea, established in 1952. Its missions are
- to promote interactions among economists in Koreaand in other parts of the world;
- to encourage economic research in Korea and otherparts of the world; and
- to disseminate economic research results.
Since 1982, KEA has organized an international conference in every two years. From this year on,
KEA will organize an international conference every year.
For more information, please visit the KEA's web site.

The Asia-Pacific Economic Association (APEA)

The association was established as a result of a series of conferences organized by a group of economists in the United States, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Mainland China on the Asian economies and the 1997 Asian financial crisis.
They all felt the need for more forums for economists to share their research work with others, to interact with other economists, to search for more research opportunities and topics, to make policy recommendations, and to make more friends. The association has the following missions:
- to promote interactions among economists in the Asia-Pacific region and in other parts of the world;
- to encourage economic research in the region; and
- to disseminate economic research results.
Since the summer of 2005, APEA has been organizing annual conferences in different places to provide a forum to economists to present their research ideas and results, and to interact with economists from all over the world. For more information, please visit the APEA's web site.

Program Committee

Hyun-Hoon Lee, Kangwon National University, Korea (co-chair)
Shin-ichi Fukuda, University of Tokyo, Japan (co-chair)
Biung-Ghi Ju, Seoul National University, Korea (coordinator)
Charles Harvie, University of Wollongong, Australia
Hyeon-seung Huh, Yonsei University, Korea
Hyuncheol Bryant Kim, Cornell University, USA
Youngse Kim, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Deokwoo Nam, Hanyang University, Korea
Euston Quah, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Myung Hwan Seo, Seoul National University, Korea
Kwanho Shin, Korea University, Korea
Tom Willett, Claremont Graduate University, USA
Miaojie Yu, Peking University, China

Selection Committee

Insill Yi, Sogang University, Korea (co-chair)
Jong Ho Hong, Seoul National University, Korea (co-chair)
Inhyuck "Steve" Ha, Western Carolina University, USA (coordinator)
Kenzo Abe, Osaka University, Japan
Arindam Banik, International Management Institute Kolkata, India
Chen-Min Hsu, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Fukunari Kimura, Keio University, Japan
Won Soon Kwon, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Korea
Eiji Ogawa, Hitotsubashi University, Japan
Yuri Sasaki, Meiji Gakuin University, Japan
Sakon Varanyuwatana, Thammasat University, Thailand
Zhongxiu Zhao, University of International Business and Economics, China

Local Organizing Committee

Sung Jin Kang, Korea University, Korea (chair)
Woojin Lee, Korea University, Korea (coordinator)
Wonki Jo Cho, Korea University, Korea
Chirok Han, Korea University, Korea
Jin Young Kim, Konkuk University, Korea
Jae-Young Lim, Korea University, Korea
Danbee Park, Kangwon National University, Korea